TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Laura Benanti Returns as Host of the 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards

The two-time Drama Desk Award-winning actress will come back to the Town Hall stage.

Laura Benanti will host the 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards at Town Hall on May 31.
(© David Gordon)

Tony Award winner and two-time Drama Desk Award winner Laura Benanti (New York Spring Spectacular, Gypsy) will return as host of the 2015 Drama Desk Awards ceremony, to be held at Town Hall on Sunday, May 31.

Written by Bill Rosenfield (with additional material by Benanti), the awards show will be presented by TheaterMania for the fourth consecutive year and produced by Joey Parnes Productions, with TheaterMania CEO Gretchen Shugart serving as managing executive producer. Transport Group Theatre Company Artistic Director Jack Cummings III will direct.

The Drama Desk Awards are an annual celebration of the best of Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway talent. The Drama Desk's voters select each year's winners from the pool of artists nominated in each of its 30 categories. The 2015 nominees will be announced April 23.

"Laura Benanti was a fantastic host last year — bringing her brand of humor and charm to a wonderful evening," said Shugart. "We are excited to welcome her back to Town Hall to lead us in our annual celebration of excellence in New York theater."

Commenting on her return to the awards show, Benanti said, "THIRD TIME'S A CHARM! Oh, wait...I'm hosting this for the second time? Well, I'm sure it will be fine."

For tickets to the 2015 Drama Desk Awards, click here.