TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Karen L. Lewis Wins Wagner College's Stanley Drama Award logo
Karen L. Lewis
(courtesy of Wagner College's Stanley Drama Award)
The Wagner College Theatre has named Emmy-winning soap writer Karen L. Lewis as the winner of the 2012 Stanley Drama Award for her play The Perfect Wife. She award will be presented to her at a ceremony held at The Players on Monday, March 5 at 6pm.

Lewis began her creative life as an actress, becoming a playwright at the suggestion of pen pal Ginger Rogers. Her stretch of employment writing for soap operas brought her five Emmys and three Writers Guild Awards. Most recently, her Stanley Award-winning play, The Perfect Wife was also selected as a semi-finalist for the Eugene O'Neill Theatre's National Playwrights Conference.

Established in 1957 by philanthropist Alma Guyon Timolat Stanley, The Stanley Drama Award has a long and distinguished history. Past winners include Terrence McNally's This Side of the Door, Lonne Elder III's Ceremonies in Dark Old Men, and Jonathan Larson's Rent.

Stephen Wylie and Richard Manley were announced as finalists for their plays Cages in Space and Life is Mostly Straws.


Tagged in this Story