TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Mr. Magoo's Christmas Carol, Starring Douglas Sills, Announces Full Casting

The musical will be presented as a benefit for The Actors Fund.

Douglas Sills will star as Mr. Magoo/Scrooge in the Actors Fund performance of Mr. Magoo's Christmas Carol.

The Actors Fund's one-night-only benefit concert presentation of Mr. Magoo's Christmas Carol has announced final casting for its December 15 performance at John Jay College's Gerald W. Lynch Theater.

Tony nominee Douglas Sills (The Scarlet Pimpernel) takes on the lead role of Mr. Magoo/Scrooge, joined by two-time Tony nominee Joshua Henry (Violet) as Bob Crachit, Tony nominee Robert Cuccioli (Jekyll & Hyde) as Marley's Ghost, Erik Altemus (Pippin) as Young Ebenezer Scrooge, and Tony winner Lillias White (The Life) as the Charwoman.

As previously announced, the concert event will also feature Tony nominee Jeff Blumenkrantz (Murder for Two), John Bolton (Pageant), Jennifer Cody (Shrek), Don Darryl Rivera (Aladdin), Matthew Scott (Sondheim on Sondheim), two-time Tony nominee Christopher Sieber (Matilda The Musical) and Betsy Wolfe (Bullets Over Broadway).

The company will also include Klea Blackhurst (Radio Gals), Janet Dacal (Wonderland) and Tony Sheldon (The Band Wagon), with an ensemble made up of Wendi Bergamini, Chloe Campbell, Akash Chopra, Lindsay Janisse, Roddy Kennedy, Elizabeth Ward Land, Oona Laurence, Greg Kamp, Brandon Leffler, Caleb McLaughlin, Dustienne Miller, Jen Noble, Frederic Odgaard, Kevin Santos, Kirsten Scott, Bret Shuford, Kendal Sparks, Eli Tokash, Alexandra Underwood, Zachary Unger, Jessica Vosk, and Thom Christopher Warren.

Based on the prime-time animated holiday special, the stage presentation features a score by Funny Girl songwriting team Jule Styne and lyricist Bob Merrill. Making its stage debut, the show offers a retelling of the Dickens classic, featuring the comically myopic cartoon character Quincy Magoo.

Peter Flynn directs the performance with musical direction by Grammy and Emmy Award winner John McDaniel and choreography by Marcos Santana. The production features sets by Paul Weimer, costumes by Carol Sherry, lighting design by Tony Award winner Jeff Croiter, sound design by Patrick Weaver, and projections by Shawn Duan. Nate Patten is the associate music director, and Jason A. Quinn is the production stage manager.

Proceeds from the evening will benefit the programs and services of The Actors Fund, a national human services organization that provides help for everyone in performing arts and entertainment.

For tickets and more information, click here.