TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Douglas, Jungr, Maye, Pedi, et al. Win Nightlife Awards logo
Barb Jungr
(© John Haxby)
Natalie Douglas, Barb Jungr, Marilyn Maye, Christine Pedi, and John Pizzarelli and Jessica Molaskey are among the winners of the 2008 Nightlife Awards, created and produced by TheaterMania contributor Scott Siegel, The show, which features performances by the winenrs, will be held at Town Hall on Monday, January 28.

As previously announced, Emmy Award winner Bruce Vilanch will host the ceremony, to be directed by Carl Andress. Presenters and guest performers will include Lucie Arnaz, Charles Busch, Bill Charlap, Joanna Gleason, Julie Halston, Bill Irwin, Hilary Kole, Sandy Stewart, and Lari White.

The Nightlife Awards, which honor the best of New York's cabaret, comedy, and jazz, are decided upon by more than two dozen critics and experts on four different panels. Following is the complete list of winners:

Outstanding Cabaret Vocalist in a Major Engagement: Marilyn Maye

Outstanding Cabaret Duo or Group in a Major Engagement: John Pizzarelli and Jessica Molaskey

Outstanding Cabaret Vocalist: Barb Jungr

Outstanding Cabaret Comedy or Characterization: Christine Pedi

Outstanding Cabaret Duo or Group: Modern Man

Outstanding Piano Bar Entertainer: Natalie Douglas

Outstanding Jazz Vocalist in a Major Engagement: Carol Sloane

Outstanding Jazz Vocalist: Allan Harris

Outstanding Jazz Soloist: Hank Jones

Outstanding Jazz Combo: Anat Cohen and the Anzic Orchestra

Outstanding Comedian in a Major Engagement: Louis CK

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story