TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

David, Luker, Prince, Wopat, et al. Win 2007 BackStage Bistro Awards logo
Rebecca Luker
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
The winners of the 2007 BackStage Bistro Awards for Excellence in Cabaret have been announced. The awards, which will be bestowed at a public ceremony on April 9 at the Gotham Comedy Club, were decided upon by the newspaper's editor-at-large Sherry Eaker and cabaret critics John Hoglund and David Finkle (who is TheaterMania's chief theater critic).

A complete list of winners follows:

Vocalist: Keith David and Douglas Ladnier

Debut: Valarie Pettiford

Major Engagement: Jeff Harnar and Rebecca Luker

Major Jazz Vocalist: Kurt Elling

Jazz Vocalist: Andrew Suvalsky

Musical Duo: Klea Blackhurst and Billy Stritch; Faith Prince and Tom Wopat

Musical Group: Tom Andersen, Scott Coulter and Tim Di Pasqua in Southern Comfort

Musical Comedy: Jay Rogers and Kristine Zbornik

Unique Artist: Jose Luis Rodriguez

Return to Cabaret: Charles Cochran

Tribute Show: Terese Genecco in Drunk With Love: A Tribute to Frances Faye

Piano Bar: Ray Fellman, David Shenton, Rick Unterberg

Comedy: Bob Smith at Gotham Comedy Club

Song of the Year: 'One Thing' by Tim Di Pasqua

Special Material: 'Almost (99 I Love Yous)' by Joe Iconis and Robert Maddock

Recording: Mary Foster Conklin, 'Blues for Breakfast, and Barbara Fasano, Written in the Stars

Musical Director: Shelly Markham

Instrumentalist: Sean Smith

Instrumental Group: The Ross Patterson Little Big Band

Technical Director: Tim Flannery at the Algonquin

Special Awards: Chris Mazzilli, Steve Mazzilli and Lennie Watts (Metropolitan Room); Donald Schaffer (Danny's Skylight Room); Erv Raible and Wendy Lane Bailey (Cabaret Conference at Yale University); Mike Greensill.

Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award (for up-and-comer): Sheera Ben-David

Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award: To be announced shortly.

Tagged in this Story