TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

David Lindsay-Abaire and Naomi Wallace Win Horton Foote Prize logo
David Lindsay-Abaire
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
The playwrights David Lindsay-Abaire and Naomi Wallace have been named the 2012 recipients of the Horton Foote Prize, a biennial award named for the playwright and screenwriter who died in 2009 at 92, according to The New York Times. Each of them will receive $15,000.

Lindsay-Abaire's Good People was chosen as the outstanding new American play. The work, which played Broadway's Samuel J. Friedman Theatre, revolves around a working-class South Boston woman who reconnects with her upper-class former high-school classmate.

Wallace's The Liquid Plain, which received the award for promising new American play, is about the mysterious identities of two runaway slaves and a sailor. It is scheduled to have its premiere next July at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.

The judges for the 2012 prize were the director Michael Wilson; Casey Childs, the executive producer of Primary Stages; Paige Evans, the artistic director of Lincoln Center Theater's LCT3 series; and Evan Yionoulis, the resident director at Yale Repertory Theater.

To be nominated for the Foote prize, playwrights must have written at least four original full-length plays which have been produced by professional theaters.

Tagged in this Story