TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Bryggman, Huffman, Smith, et al. Set for Surface to Air logo
Lois Smith
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Larry Bryggman, Cady Huffman, and Lois Smith will head the cast of the world premiere of David Epstein's Surface to Air, July 11-August 5 at Symphony Space. The show, to be directed by James Naughton, will open officially on July 18.

The play concerns a Long Island family that is forced to confront long-repressed emotions when the remains of their son, a decorated Vietnam veteran, are identified and returned for burial. Epstein's other works include the play Exact Change, the book and lyrics for the musical The Bonus Army, and the screenplay for Palookaville.

The show's cast will also feature Bruce Altman, James Colby, Marisa Echeverria, and Mark J. Sullivan. The creative team includes James Noone (sets), Laurie Churba (costumes), Clifton Taylor (lighting), and Ray Schilke (sound).

Bryggman is a two-time Tony Award nominee for Proof and Picnic. His many stage credits include King Lear, Festen, Twelve Angry Men, and Romance. Brygmman is an Emmy Award winner for his work as Dr. John Dixon on As The World Turns. Huffman received the Tony Award for her role as Ulla in The Producers and a nomination for The Will Rogers Follies. She most recently starred as Sabina in the Westport Country Playhouse production of All About Us. Smith received Tony Award nominations for Buried Child and The Grapes of Wrath and received the Drama Desk Award, among other honors, for her work in the Signature Theatre Company's revival of The Trip to Bountiful.

Naughton's previous directorial credits include the Broadway revivals of Our Town and The Price. He won Tony Awards for Best Actor in a Musical for his performances in Chicago and City of Angels; his other Broadway credits include Democracy, I Love My Wife, and Whose Life Is It Anyway?


Tagged in this Story