TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Matt Loehr, Kenneth Tigar, Catherine Walker Among Winners of 2012 Carbonell Awards

Matt Loehr at the Carbonell Awards
(© Tony Schreiber Photography)
The winners of the 36th Annual Carbonell Awards -- honoring the best in South Florida theater -- were presented at a ceremony held on April 2 in the Amaturo Theatre of the Broward Center for the Performing Arts. The event was directed and produced by Amy London and Michael McKeever.

Maltz Jupiter Theatre won Best Production of Musical with its version of Crazy For You, which also won awards for Mark Martino as Best Director of a Musical, Helen Gregory for Best Musical Direction, Shea Sullivan for Choreography, and Matt Loehr as Best Actor in a Musical.

Palm Beach Dramaworks' All My Sons was named Best Production of a Play, while J. Barry Lewis won Best Director of a Play and Kenneth Tigar won Best Actor in a Play for this production.

Additional acting winners included Marckenson Charles (Superior Donuts), Avi Hoffman (Hairspray), Julie Kleiner (Hairspray), Angie Radosh (Stuff), Deborah Sherman (Side Effects), Catherine Walker (The Sound of Music),

Among the other awards handed out were Best New Work, which went to Michael McKeever's Stuff; Mosaic Theatre's The Irish Curse, which won for Ensemble; and designers Tim Bennett (Scenic Design, Stuff), Patrick Tennent (Lighting Design, Jacob Marley's Christmas Carol), Jose M. Rivera (Costume Design, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat), Alexander Herrin (Sound Design, Jacob Marley's Christmas Carol).

Click here for more information on the Carbonell Awards.