TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Wilson Cruz to Co-Host L.A. GLAAD Ceremony; Drew Barrymore, Wanda Sykes to Receive Special Awards logo
Wilson Cruz
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Broadway veteran Wilson Cruz will co-host the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards ceremony in Los Angeles, along with Candis Cayne. The ceremony will be held at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, on April 17.

The event will honor actress and producer Drew Barrymore with the Vanguard Award, presented to media professionals who have increased the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community, and actress and comedian Wanda Sykes with the Stephen F. Kolzak Award, presented to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights.

Additional guests and presenters scheduled for the LA ceremony include Tom Ford, Benjamin Bratt, Rob Halford, and GLAAD President Jarrett Barrios. Awards scheduled to be presented onstage in the following categories include: Outstanding Film - Wide Release, Outstanding Comedy Series, and Outstanding Reality Program.

As previously announced, Tony Award winner Alan Cumming will host GLAAD's New York ceremony on March 13 at the Marriott Marquis, which will honor Cynthia Nixon with the Vito Russo Award. Special guests will include Nigel Barker, Bryan Batt, Sandra Bernhard, Brian Graden, Sarah Paulson, Sigourney Weaver, and Jill Zarin. Meanwhile, Emmy winner Bruce Vilanch is set to host the San Francisco ceremony on June 5 at The Westin St. Francis, which will honor Robert Hanson with the Local Hero Award.

Tickets begin at $300. For more information, call 877-519-7904 or visit

Tagged in this Story