TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

64th Annual Primetime Emmy Award Nominations Are Announced logo
Jim Parsons
(© David Gordon)
Nominations have been announced for the 64th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, to be presented a 8pm on Sunday, September 23 in Los Angeles and aired live on ABC.

Kerry Washington and Jimmy Kimmel -- who will host the Emmy ceremony -- made the announcement.

Series and movies that received nominations include Boardwalk Empire, Breaking Bad, Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, Homeland, Mad Men, American Horror Story, Game Change, Hemingway & Gelhorn, Sherlock, So You Think You Can Dance, The Voice, The Colbert Report, Saturday Night Live, The Big Bang Theory, Curb Your Enthusiasm, 30 Rock, and Modern Family.

Stage veterans who received nominations include Kathy Bates, Glenn Close, Claire Danes, Julianna Margulies, Elisabeth Moss, Steve Buscemi, Michael C. Hall, Jon Hamm, Damian Lewis, Ashley Judd, Nicole Kidman, Julianne Moore, Emma Thompson, Benedict Cumberbatch, Woody Harrelson, Edie Falco, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Alec Baldwin, Don Cheadle, Jon Cryer, Jim Parsons, Merritt Wever, Sofia Vergara, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Kathryn Joosten, Ty Burrell, Anna Gunn, Maggie Smith, Christina Hendricks, Christine Baranski, Giancarlo Esposito, Peter Dinklage, Jared Harris, Sarah Paulson, Frances Conroy, Jessica Lange, Mare Winningham, Ed Harris, Denis O'Hare, David Strathairn, Margaret Cho, Greg Kinnear, Dylan Baker, Jason Ritter, Loretta Devine, Martha Plimpton, Jean Smart, Joan Cusack, Kathy Griffin, and Bobby Cannavale.

The Broadway-themed NBC drama series Smash received nominations, for songwriters Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman ("Let Me Be Your Star"), Marc Shaiman (Original Music) and Christian Bacon (Score), choreographer Joshua Bergasse ("National Pastime," "Let's Be Bad," "Never Met a Wolf"), and guest star Uma Thurman.

The 65th Annual Tony Awards received nominations for Special Class Program, Original Music and Lyrics (David Javerbaum and Adam Schlesinger's "It's Not Just for Gays Anymore"), Best Writing (Dave Boone and Paul Greenberg), Directing (Glenn Weiss), and Art Direction (Steve Bass and Seth Easter).

Additionally, the PBS Great Performances broadcast of the musical Memphis received a nomination for Best Technical Direction, Camerawork, and Video Control (Steven Cimino, Paul J. Cangialosi, John Pinto, Chuck Goslin, Barry Frischer, Jeff Latonero, Len Wechsler, Susan Noll, and J.M. Hurley.

For a complete list of nominees, visit


Tagged in this Story