TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Roger Allam, Nancy Carroll, Sheridan Smith, David Thaxton, et al. Win Laurence Olivier Awards logo
Nancy Carroll and Benedict Cumberbatch
in After the Dance
(© Johan Persson)
The 35th Laurence Olivier Awards were held on March 13 at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane. Michael Ball and Imelda Staunton hosted the event.

Legally Blonde won the award for Best New Musical and Bruce Norris' Clybourne Park was named Best New Play.

Waterloo Station Theatre's The Railway Children was named Best Entertainment; Open Air Theatre's Into the Woods was named Best Musical Revival; We Will Rock You won the BBC2 Radio Audience Award; Babel (Words) was named Best New Dance Production; Opera UpClose and Soho Theatre's La Boheme was named Best Opera Production; and the Lyric Hammersmith's production of Sarah Kane's Blasted won the award for Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre.

Sheridan Smith and Jill Halfpenny were named Best Actress and Supporting Performer in a Musical for Legally Blonde, while David Thaxton was named Best Actor in a Musical for the Donmar Warehouse's Passion.

The National Theatre's production of Terrence Rattigan's After the Dance was named Best Revival, and also picked up awards for actors Nancy Carroll and Adrian Scarborough and costume designer Hildegard Bechtler.

The National's production of The White Guard earned awards for director Howard Davies, set designer Bunny Christie, and lighting designer Neil Austin.

Roger Allam was named Best Actor in a Play for Henry IV, Parts I and II and Michelle Terry was named Best Supporting Actress for the Royal Court's Tribes.

In addition, Stephen Sondheim received a special award.

For a complete list of winners, visit

Tagged in this Story