TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Annual Ovation Awards to Be Renamed in Honor of Tony Winner Sutton Foster

The Sutton Foster Ovation Awards celebrate outstanding achievement in musical-theater performance by Michigan high school students.

Michigan's Ovation Awards will be renamed for Tony winner Sutton Foster.
(© David Gordon)

Michigan's annual Ovation Awards will now be known as the Sutton Foster Ovation Awards—Michigan High School Musical Theatre Awards in honor of the Tony-winning Michigan native, the organization announced today.

A celebration of outstanding achievement in musical theater performance by high school students, the Sutton Foster Ovation Awards recognize individual artistry in vocal, dance, and acting performance. For the last four years Michigan's best high school theater students have competed in the Ovation Awards for the scholarships and awards on Wharton Center's Cobb Great Hall. One top male and one top female performer from the competition are chosen to represent the State of Michigan at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards competition in New York City. The awards are presented by Broadway in Detroit, Broadway Grand Rapids, and Wharton Center for the Performing Arts.

"Musical theater has had such a significant impact on my life! I am honored to have my name associated with the Ovation Awards and scholarship program, and I am thrilled to know that it will help inspire and support future generations of student thespians from my home state," said Foster in a statement.

Originally from Troy, Michigan, Sutton Foster has performed in 11 Broadway shows, most recently the revival of Violet. Her Tony Award-winning performances have included Anything Goes and Thoroughly Modern Millie. Foster currently stars in TVLand's critically acclaimed series Younger.

In addition, the Sutton Foster Ovation Awards have announced plans to award the Greg Reuter Excellence in Musical Theatre Education Award in honor of 20-year Broadway stage veteran, Los Angeles actor, and beloved Michigan State University Department of Theatre professor, Greg Reuter. The award will recognize the Michigan theatrical educator who follows the same upstanding ideals with which Reuter taught.