TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Marisa Wegrzyn Wins 2009 Wasserstein Prize

Marisa Wegrzyn
Marisa Wegrzyn has won the 2009 Wasserstein Prize for her play Hickorydickory. She will receive the award at a reception at The Players on December 1.

Hickorydickory examines what might happen if a person knew at exactly what moment he or she might die. Among Wegrzyn's other plays are Killing Women, Psalms of a Questionable Nature, and Ten Cent Night. In addition to productions at New York's The Women's Project and Second Stage Theatre, her work has been seen at theaters across the country.

The Wasserstein Prize was established in memory of the Pulitzer and Tony Award-winning playwright Wendy Wasserstein, who died in 2006. The $25,000 prize is awarded for an outstanding script by a young woman who has not yet received national attention. The previous winners of the award are Linda Ramsey for The Feather House in 2007 and Laura Jacqmin for And when we awoke there was light and light in 2008.


Tagged in this Story