TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

David Henry Hwang, Tracy Letts, John Mahoney, Jessie Mueller Among Chicago Theater Critics' Beat Award Nominees logo
Jessie Mueller
(© Tristan Fuge)
The nominations for the inaugural Chicago Theater Critics' Beat Awards have been announced. The winners will be announced in late March.

Nominations have been made in 19 categories, which recognize both productions and individuals.

Among the individual nominees are Brad Armacost, Gregg Edelman, Sean Fortunato, Harry Groener, Terry Hamilton, Tracy Letts, John Mahoney, Nick Sandys, Alan Schmuckler, Michael Patrick Thornton, Ian Westerfer, and Larry Yando, all of whom are nominated in the Best Male Actor, Equity category.

The nominees in the Best Actress, Equity category are Marilyn Dodds Frank, Penny Johnson Jerald, Jennifer Lim, Laurie Metcalf, Amy Morton, Jessie Mueller, Caroline Neff, Falashay Pearson, Michaela Petro, Kathy Scambiatterra, Bethany Thomas, and Karen Janes Woditsch.

The playwrights nominated for Best New Work are Kevin Blair and Joe Kinosian, Murder for Two, Philip Dawkins for The Homosexuals, Laura Eason for Sex With Strangers, Bruce Graham for The Outgoing Tide, Jason Grote for 1001, David Henry Hwang for Chinglish, Patricia Kane for Float, Bruce Norris for A Parallelogram, Caitlin Montanye Parrish for A Twist of Water, and Marisa Wegrzyn for Hickorydickory.

Nominated in the Annual Honoree category are Jeremy Wechsler & Brian Posen, Larry Bommer, Oracle Theatre, Rahm Emmanuel, Richard M. Daley, and Timeline Theatre.

The nominations have been made by a panel of nine critics from six different publications.


Tagged in this Story