TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Glenn Close, Phylicia Rashad, Brian Stokes Mitchell to Be Inducted Into Theatre Hall of Fame

The annual induction ceremony will be held at the Gershwin Theatre.

Glenn Close will be inducted into the Theatre Hall of Fame on November 14 at the Gershwin Theatre.
(© David Gordon)

The Theatre Hall of Fame has announced its 2016 roster of inductees.

This year's list of acclaimed artists and theater professionals includes three-time-Tony-winning actress Glenn Close (A Delicate Balance, Sunset Boulevard), Tony-winning actress Phylicia Rashad (A Raisin in the Sun, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof), Tony-winning actor Brian Stokes Mitchell (Shuffle Along, Kiss Me, Kate), six-time-Tony-winning costume designer Catherine Zuber (The King and I, Fiddler on the Roof), three-time-Tony-winning lyricist and librettist Tim Rice (Aida, Evita); Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Marsha Norman (The Color Purple, 'night, Mother), Tony-winning librettist Joe Masteroff (Cabaret, She Loves Me), and Tony Award-winning producer Paul Libin.

Founded in 1971 by Earl Blackwell, James M. Nederlander, Gerard Oestreicher, and L. Arnold Weissberger, the Theatre Hall of Fame honors Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater. To be eligible for induction, the theater professional must have given 25 years distinguished service to the American Theater and must have at least five major production credits on Broadway.

The annual ballot is voted upon by over 275 members of the Theatre Hall of Fame and American drama critics. There are 10 categories and over 50 nominees from which to vote. The final eight nominees receiving the most votes are ratified for the annual induction.

The 46th Annual Theatre Hall of Fame ceremony will be held on Monday, November 14 at New York's Gershwin Theatre (home of Broadway's Wicked).