TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Brian d'Arcy James, Emily Bergl, Shuler Hensley to Join The Ferryman on Broadway

Jez Butterworth's new drama will welcome an almost entirely new company in February.

Brian d'Arcy James will join The Ferryman on Broadway.
(© David Gordon)

The acclaimed Broadway production of Jez Butterworth's The Ferryman will welcome an almost entirely new principal company, led by three-time Tony nominee Brian d'Arcy James, beginning Tuesday, February 19.

James will take on the role of Quinn Carney, originated by Paddy Considine, with Holley Fain replacing Laura Donnelly as Caitlin Carney, Emily Bergl assuming the role of Mary Carney from Catherine McCormack, and Tony winner Shuler Hensley replacing Justin Edwards as Tom Kettle.

They will be joined by fellow incoming cast members Fed Applegate as Uncle Patrick Carney, Ralph Brown as Muldoon, Sean Delaney as Michael Carney, Jack DiFalco as Shane Corcoran, Ethan Dubin as Oisin Carney, Terence Keeley as Diarmaid Corcoran, Collin Kelly-Sordelet as James Joseph (JJ) Carney, Ann McDonough as Aunt Patricia Carney, Julia Nightingale as Shena Carney, and Graham Winton as Frank Magennis.

Returning cast members will include Charles Dale (Father Horrigan), Fionnula Flanagan (Aunt Maggie Far Away), Matilda Lawler (Honor Carney), Michael Quinton McArthur (Declan Corcoran), Willow McCarthy (Mercy Carney), Brooklyn Shuck (Nunu (Nuala) Carney), Glenn Speers (Lawrence Malone), Glynis Bell, Peter Bradbury, Will Coombs, Gina Costigan, Carly Gold, Holly Gould, Trevor Harrison Braun, Bella May Mordus, and Griffin Osborne.

Tony winner Blair Brown will replace Fionnula Flanagan beginning April 16.

Set in rural Northern Ireland in 1981, The Ferryman takes place in the Carney farmhouse, a hive of activity with preparations for the annual harvest. A day of hard work on the land and a traditional night of feasting and celebrations lie ahead. But this year they will be interrupted by a visitor. Sam Mendes directs the production at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre.

The production is designed by Rob Howell, with lighting by Peter Mumford, and sound and original music by Nick Powell.