TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Opening Night

Tarell Alvin McCraney's Choir Boy, Starring Jeremy Pope, Opens on Broadway Tonight

Chuck Cooper and Austin Pendleton also star in the drama, directed by Trip Cullman.

Jeremy Pope stars as Pharus Jonathan Young in Choir Boy.
(© Matthew Murphy)

Manhattan Theatre Club's Broadway premiere of Tarell Alvin McCraney's Choir Boy, directed by Trip Cullman, opens tonight at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre.

Jeremy Pope and Chuck Cooper star in Choir Boy.
(© Matthew Murphy)

The production marks McCraney's Broadway debut. The play was first performed at MTC's Studio at Stage II – Harold and Mimi Steinberg New Play Series in summer 2013, extending twice during its run. Choir Boy was commissioned by Manhattan Theatre Club with support from Time Warner Inc.

The play's plot is described as follows: "For half a century, the Charles R. Drew Prep School for Boys has been dedicated to the education of strong, ethical black men. One talented student has been waiting for years to take his rightful place as the leader of the legendary gospel choir. But can he make his way through the hallowed halls of this institution if he sings in his own key?"

Choir Boy's creative team includes Jason Michael Webb (music direction and vocal arrangements), David Zinn (scenic and costume design), Peter Kaczorowski (lighting design), Fitz Patton (sound design), Cookie Jordan (make-up design), Thomas Schall (fight director) and Camille A. Brown (movement).

Nicholas L. Ashe, J. Quinton Johnson, Jeremy Pope, Caleb Eberhardt, and John Clay III in Choir Boy.
(© Matthew Murphy)

In alphabetical order, the company includes Nicholas L. Ashe (Junior Blake), Daniel Bellomy (ensemble), Jonathan Burke (ensemble), Gerald Caesar (ensemble), John Clay III (Anthony Justin "AJ" James), Chuck Cooper (Headmaster Marrow), Caleb Eberhardt (David Heard), Marcus Gladney (ensemble), J. Quinton Johnson (Bobby Marrow), Austin Pendleton (Mr. Pendleton), and Jeremy Pope (Pharus Jonathan Young).

The cast of Choir Boy, which opens on January 8 at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre.
(© Matthew Murphy)