Theater News

Betsy Wolfe Departs Carousel

The actress has left the production due to scheduling difficulties.

Betsy Wolfe will no longer be in the upcoming Broadway revival of Carousel.
(© Tricia Baron)

Actress Betsy Wolfe will no longer take a ride on the Carousel citing scheduling difficulties. "I am so sad that I won't be able to join this beautiful production due
to scheduling conflicts this fall," the actress said in a statement. "[I] wish the team all the best moving forward."

New casting for the role of Carrie Pipperidge will be announced shortly.

The production, which will play the Imperial Theatre, is set to star Tony Award winner Jessie Mueller as Julie Jordan, Tony Award nominee Joshua Henry as Billy Bigelow, Renée Fleming (in her first-ever appearance in a Broadway musical) as Nettie Fowler, Alexander Gemignani as Enoch Snow, Margaret Colin as Mrs. Mullin, Amar Ramasar as Jigger, and Brittany Pollack as Louise.

Carousel first opened on Broadway on April 19, 1945. Based on Ferenc Molnár's play Liliom, Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II transported the drama from the outskirts of Budapest to a New England mill town, where the story focuses on the tragic romance between carnival barker Billy Bigelow and factory worker Julie Jordan.

The ensemble of Carousel features Colin Anderson, Yesenia Ayala, Nicholas Belton, Colin Bradbury, Andrei Chagas, Leigh-Ann Esty, Laura Feig, David Michael Garry, Garett Hawe, Rosena M. Hill Jackson, Amy Justman, Jess LeProtto, Skye Mattox, Adriana Pierce, David Prottas, Craig Salstein, Ahmad Simmons, Antoine L. Smith, Corey John Snide, Erica Spyres, Ryan Steele, Sam Strasfeld, Ricky Ubeda, Scarlett Walker, Jacob Keith Watson, and William Youmans. Additional cast members will be announced shortly.

The creative team includes four-time Tony Award winner Santo Loquasto (set design); Tony and Academy Award winner Ann Roth (costume design); nine-time Tony Award winner Jules Fisher and three-time Tony Award winner Peggy Eisenhauer (lighting design); Tony Award winner Scott Lehrer (sound design); Tony, Grammy, Emmy, and Academy Award winner Jonathan Tunick (orchestrations); and Andy Einhorn (musical supervision and direction).