TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2017 Jimmy Award Winners to Perform at BroadwayCon

Sofia Deler and Tony Moreno won last year's edition of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards. logo
Jimmy Award winners Tony Moreno and Sofia Deler with Dear Evan Hansen star and 2017 Jimmy Awards host Ben Platt.
(© Henry McGee )

The winners of the 2017 Jimmy Awards are set to perform at BroadwayCon. Sofia Deler (2017 Best Performance by an Actress) and Tony Moreno (2017 Best Performance by an Actor) will take the stage during the second annual BroadwayCon Star To Be competition on January 27 while the judges deliberate.

The Jimmy Awards/National High School Musical Theatre Awards program impacts more than 80,000 students who participate in high school musical theater competitions sponsored by presenters of Touring Broadway productions throughout the United States. Presented by the Broadway League Foundation, the program sends a Best Actress and Best Actor winner from each of these competitions to New York for a weeklong theater intensive of coaching and rehearsals with industry professionals in preparation for a one-night-only talent showcase on Broadway.

Sofia Victoria Deler is a 16-year-old from Orlando, Florida. She plans to attend college this fall to pursue a musical theater degree. Sofia has big dreams to be on Broadway and in film.

Tony Moreno recently graduated from Trinity Preparatory School in Winter Park, Florida, where he was vice president of Troupe 1780. He currently attends the University of Arizona, earning a B.F.A. in Musical Theatre.

BroadwayCon, taking place January 26-28 at the Jacob Javits Center, will feature panels, performances, interviews, workshops, sing-alongs, and more, all packed into a three-day weekend. Past panels have included previews from upcoming Broadway shows, conversations with the casts and creatives of this season's hits, and discussions featuring the industry's top producers and designers. BroadwayCon is produced by Mischief Management.

For tickets to BroadwayCon 2018, click here.