TheaterMania Logo

About this show

YAU! 'Feel It!' is the Young Artists United's new bifurcated musical comprised of "eXILE," written and directed by Jose Landivar, and "Unheard Of," written by Paul Hagen and directed by Meggan Christman. Both pieces ponder the Big Questions of the existence of individuality and mirrored consciousness, and whether the mind is placed within the body, or within the cosmos. Also featured are three individual segues and performances, including a "Spoken Word Performance" written and performed by Alison Park, and directed by Victor Reyes, and musical pieces, "Wa:ke Me Up" and "Madeline's Dream," all latched together by the evening's score, with lyrics and music written by W Russell Essary, and under his musical direction. In "eXILE," Luke Larson O'Connor as EveryMan, struggles with his preconceived notions of morality, discipline and self-consciousness until he is forced to choose between two futures, one that revolves around him, and another that forces him to live in a blurrily defined world. In "Unheard Of," the post-apocalyptic retelling of the "Garden of Eden" myth, innocence is seen as a symptom of fear, love as a symptom of faith and happiness as a symptom of social assimilation, all in three distinct "days" distinguished by spondaic quadrameter, iambic pentameter and free verse. The show also introduces original show tunes: "This Turning Wheel", "Luke's Living Self", "Luke's eXILE", "Awakenings: Day", "Camila's Blue Eyes", "A Silent Picture on a Moving Screen" and "Awakenings: Night".

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Parker Theatre at the Algonquin Theatre, Off-Off-Broadway