TheaterMania Logo
Home link

About this show

Noo Yawk Tawk, in its original run from 1988 to 1991, provided the stage debut of Debra Wilson (Mad TV). The troupe also included Broadway actor Marc Kudisch, comedian Kim Cea (now appearing in "Newsical") and Nola Roeper (of WNEW radio). The company performed at the 250 seat Village Gate every Friday and Saturday night for three memorable years. Re-formed last year, the present company is a New York mixture of comedians--young, old, beautiful, odd, of various colors sizes and shapes, all brilliant, all funny. Its primary difference with most other improv troupes in NYC is that many of the members of Noo Yawk Tawk are recorded singers. The troupe performs exclusively short-form improv, and is distinguished by the quality of its music (as well as the talent of its members). Shows are entirely improvised on situations set up by the audience. Each show ends with the creation of a new song, sung in any two styles the audience wants. The performing troupe now includes Lisa Margolin, Rachel Plotkin, Cecily Kate, Michael Sanders, Miguel Sierra*, Michael Silver, and Richmond Shepard.* Musical accompaniment is provided alternately by Mustafa Ulmer and Doug Katsaros*, who occasionally appears as improviser. (* indicates member of the original company.) On Tuesdays, after the improv show, there will be Open Mike for comedians. A couple of these will be selected to be the Opening Acts on Fridays before the improvs.

Show Details

  • Dates:Opening Night:
    Final Performance:
  • Location: