TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Ashley Brown, Casey Nicholaw, Duncan Sheik, et al. Receive San Diego Critics Circle Award Nominations logo
Ashley Brown and Rob McClure
in Limelight
(© Craig Schwartz)
The nominations for the San Diego Critics Circle Awards have been announced. The prizes will be presented in a ceremony to be held at the Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego, in La Jolla on January 10.

Two musicals that premiered at The Old Globe Theatre, Whisper House and Robin and the Seven Hoods, are competing with one that premiered at the La Jolla Playhouse, Limelight: The Story of Charlie Chaplin, in the Outstanding New Musical category. In addition, Duncan Sheik's score for Whisper House and Christopher Curtis' for Limelight are the sole nominees for Outstanding Original Score.

In total, Limelight has received nine nominations, including ones for Warren Carlyle and Michael Ungar for Outstanding Direction of a Musical; Ashley Brown for Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical, Female; Rob McClure for Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical, Male; and Matthew Scott, Outstanding Featured Performance in a Musical, Male. Carlyle has also been nominated for Outstanding Choreography.

The other nominations for Robin, which has received seven overall, include ones for Casey Nicholaw, nominated for both his direction and choreography, and leading man Eric Schneider. Among the other nominations for Whisper House, which received a total of five, are ones for featured performer Holly Brook.

Among the other multiply nominated musicals is Cygnet Theatre's production of Sweeney Todd, which garnered a total of seven, including Outstanding Resident Musical. Other theaters nominated in this category are Diversionary Theatre, San Diego Repertory Theatre, Lamb's Players Theatre, and Moonlight Stage Productions.

In the non-musical categories, Adrian Noble and Liesl Tommy have been nominated for their direction of The Madness of George III and Ruined, respectively.

Among the performers who have received nominations are Miles Anderson, Richard Baird, Avery Glymph, Steve Gunderson, Tonye Patano, Jennifer Paz, Rosina Reynolds, Greg Watanabe, and Jay Whitaker.

No nominations are announced for certain awards which will also be presented on January 10, including Outstanding New Play, Actor of the Year and Producer of the Year.

The awards ceremony is free and open to the public. For further information, and reservations, click here.

Tagged in this Story