TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Kate Wetherhead, Hannah Elless, and More Join The Other Josh Cohen

The musical will be remounted off-Broadway at the Westside Theatre this fall.

Kate Wetherhead joins the cast of The Other Josh Cohen, opening at the Westside Theatre this fall.
(© David Gordon)

Complete casting has been announced for The Other Josh Cohen, opening off-Broadway at the Westside Theatre this fall. Performances begin October 26 ahead of a November 12 opening, and will run for a limited engagement of seventeen weeks through February 24, 2019.

Joining Steve Rosen and David Rossmer — the show's creators, who will also costar in the title roles — will be Kate Wetherhead (Legally Blonde), Hannah Elless (Bright Star), Elizabeth Nestlerode (Once Tour), Luke Darnell (Million Dollar Quartet Vegas), and Louis Tucci (Buddy). Zachary Spound (Cruel Intentions: The Musical) will serve as a swing.

The musical is described as follows: "Josh Cohen just can't get a break. He's single, broke, and to top it all off, his apartment's been robbed of everything but a Neil Diamond CD. Soon, though, his luck takes a turn when a mysterious envelope arrives that changes his life forever. Steve Rosen and David Rossmer play the hapless-yet-warmhearted title character – one eventful year apart – in this hilarious romantic comedy about courageously owning the hand life deals you, and making your own luck."

Nominated for six Drama Desk Awards following its 2012 world premiere at the SoHo Playhouse, The Other Josh Cohen features a book, music, and lyrics by David Rossmer and Steve Rosen. Tony nominee Hunter Foster directs the upcoming production, in which the actors also double as an onstage band, under the musical supervision of Dan Lipton.

A special recording of the musical will be released by Yellow Sound Label ahead of its opening at the Westside Theatre. On the album, The Other Josh Cohen: a musical with songs, Rossmer and Rosen sing the title roles alongside a lineup special guest performers that includes Hank Azaria, Sutton Foster, James Monroe Iglehart, Brian D'Arcy James, Richard Kind, Jenn Colella, Caissie Levy, James Roday, Lindsay Mendez, Celia Keenan-Bolger, John Ellison Conlee, Sara Chase, Sarah Bishop, E. Clayton Cornelious, Jeremy Geller, Marissa Rosen, and Rashidra Scott. The album, produced by Michael Croiter, will be available for digital download and in stores October 19.