TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Denise Gough, Billy Crudup, Billie Piper Win 2018 Obie Awards

The full list of Obie winners has been revealed.

Denise Gough in People, Places & Things, Billie Piper in Yerma, and Billy Crudup in Harry Clarke.
(© Teddy Wolff, Stephanie Berger, Carol Rosegg)

The American Theatre Wing and the Village Voice have announced the winners of the 63rd Obie Awards, which were presented on Monday, May 21 during a ceremony hosted by John Leguizamo.

This year's Obie recipients are as follows:

Best New American Play ($1,000 prize)
Describe the Night by Rajiv Joseph (Atlantic Theater Company)

Aleshea Harris, Is God Is (Soho Rep)
Amy Herzog, Mary Jane (New York Theatre Workshop)
Abe Koogler, Fulfillment Center (Manhattan Theatre Club)
Dominique Morisseau, Pipeline (Lincoln Center Theater)

Jesse Berger, The Government Inspector (Red Bull Theater)
Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane (New York Theatre Workshop)
Taibi Magar, Is God Is (Soho Rep)

Sean Carvajal and Edi Gathegi, Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train (Signature Theatre Company)
Carrie Coon, Mary Jane (New York Theatre Workshop)
Alfie Fuller and Dame-Jasmine Hughes, Is God Is (Soho Rep)
Denise Gough, People, Places & Things (National Theatre/Headlong/St. Ann's Warehouse)
Will Swenson, Jerry Springer – The Opera (The New Group)
Chukwudi Iwuji, The Low Road (The Public Theater)
Robert Sean Leonard, At Home at the Zoo (Signature Theatre Company)
Jessica Hecht, Admissions (Lincoln Center Theater)
Ben Edelman, Admissions (Lincoln Center Theater)
Billy Crudup, Harry Clarke (Vineyard Theatre/Audible)

Lap Chi Chu, Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
Sarah Laux, Costume Design, Jerry Springer – The Opera (The New Group)
The Design Team, He Brought Her Heart Back in a Box (Theatre for a New Audience): Christopher Barreca (set design), Justin Ellington (sound design), Donald Holder (lighting design), Montana Levi Blanco (costume design), Austin Switser (video design)

Special Citations
Ariane Mnouchkine and Theatre du Soleil, A Room in India (Park Avenue Armory)
The Cast and Creative Team, Yerma (Park Avenue Armory): Simon Stone (director), Lizzie Clachan (set design), Alice Babidge (costume design), James Farncombe (lighting design), Stefan Gregory (sound design); Maureen Beattie, Brendan Cowell, John MacMillan, Billie Piper, Charlotte Randle, Thalissa Teixeira (cast)
David Greenspan, Jack Cummings III, and Transport Group, Strange Interlude (Transport Group)

The Ross Wetzsteon Award ($3,000 prize)
Ma-Yi Theater Company

Obie Grants ($6,000 prize each)
Pan-Asian Repertory Theatre
York Theatre Company, for its Musicals in Mufti series

Lifetime Achievement Award
Kathleen Chalfant