Theater News

New Dramatists to Honor Daryl Roth and Paula Vogel With Distinguished Achievement Awards

The awards will be presented at the organization’s 68th Annual Spring Luncheon tribute.

Daryl Roth and Paula Vogel will be honored at New Dramatists 2017 luncheon.
Daryl Roth and Paula Vogel will be honored at the New Dramatists 2017 luncheon.
(© David Gordon)

Playwright development laboratory New Dramatists will honor 10-time Tony Award-winning producer Daryl Roth (Indecent) and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Paula Vogel (Indecent) with their 2017 Distinguished Achievement Awards at its 68th Annual Spring Luncheon tribute. The event will be held May 16 at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Each year, New Dramatists salutes individuals who have made an outstanding artistic contribution to the theater community.

"We are profoundly fortunate that these two outstanding theater professionals have committed their careers to this art form," said Emily Morse, artistic director of New Dramatists, in a statement. "We are grateful that their paths crossed somewhere around 1997, a fateful encounter that began a sustained and fruitful relationship between an influential American playwright and a visionary new play producer…Paula and Daryl both lead by example, and it is a tremendous honor to recognize them and their contributions to our field in the company of our vital and supportive New Dramatists community."

New Dramatists aims to provide playwrights with time, space, and resources in the company of gifted peers to create work, realize their artistic potential, and make lasting contributions to the theater. Founded in 1949 by Michaela O'Harra in association with Howard Lindsay, Richard Rodgers, Russel Crouse, Oscar Hammerstein II, John Golden, Moss Hart, Maxwell Anderson, John Wharton, Robert E. Sherwood, and Elmer Rice, New Dramatists is one of the country's leading playwright centers and a nationally recognized new play laboratory.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story