Theater News

National Theatre Live Celebrates Olivier Award Winners The Audience, Helen Mirren, Luke Treadaway, and More

Past and future NTL productions and performers were recognized with Britain’s most prestigious theater award.

Helen Mirren
Helen Mirren
(© Giles Keyte)

Britain’s Olivier Awards were presented yesterday, April 28, and several of the top honors went to National Theatre Live titles and their performers. The Audience, for which Dame Helen Mirren won the award for Best Actress, is still to be broadcast, which will enable audiences from all over the world to enjoy the famed actress’ performance.

Olivier Awards also went to National Theatre Live’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, which is adapted by Simon Stephens from the novel by Mark Haddon, as well as to director Marianne Elliott, lighting designer Paule Constable, sound designers Ian Dickinson and Adrian Sutton, set designers Bunny Christie and Finn Ross, and actors Luke Treadaway and Nicola Walker for that production.

Richard McCabe also received the award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his part opposite Helen Mirren in The Audience. McCabe plays former prime minister of the United Kingdom, Harold Wilson, opposite Mirren as Queen Elizabeth II. The play imagines a series of pivotal meetings between Britain’s prime ministers and their Queen throughout her time on the throne.

For a full list of Olivier winners read the announcement here.