Photo Flash

Matthew Broderick, Wallace Shawn, Cynthia Nixon, and More at New Group Gala

The organization honored Sutton Foster and Robert J. Rosenberg.

The New Group honored Sutton Foster, the star of its recent revival of Sweet Charity, and board member Robert J. Rosenberg with the 2017 Michael Mendelson Award for Outstanding Commitment to Theater on March 6. The honors were presented at the off-Broadway organization's annual gala, held at Tribeca Rooftop and hosted by stage and screen favorite Mario Cantone.

The New Group is an award-winning, artist-driven company with a commitment to developing and producing powerful, contemporary theater. While constantly evolving, the company strives to maintain an ensemble approach to all its work and an articulated style of emotional immediacy in its productions. The company is currently presenting the New York premieres of Wallace Shawn's Evening at the Talk House and Erica Schmidt's All the Fine Boys.