Theater News

La MaMa E.T.C. to Receive 2018 Regional Theatre Tony Award

The off-off-Broadway theater will be honored at this year’s ceremony.

La MaMa E.T.C. is the recipient of the 2018 Regional Theatre Tony Award.
La MaMa E.T.C. is the recipient of the 2018 Regional Theatre Tony Award.
(© photo provided by Slate PR)

The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced that, based on the recommendation of the American Theatre Critics Association, La MaMa E.T.C. (Experimental Theatre Club) in New York City will be the recipient of the 2018 Regional Theatre Tony Award. The honor is accompanied by a grant of $25,000.

La MaMa E.T.C. is one of the original theaters that gave birth to the off-off-Broadway movement in the 1960s under the leadership of founder and artistic director Ellen Stewart. Since its inception, La MaMa has embodied the celebration of diversity and art by supporting more than 150,000 artists from over 70 countries. Well-known artists such as Sam Shepard, Diane Lane, Lanford Wilson, Elizabeth Swados, Phillip Glass, Julie Taymor, Robert Wilson, Harvey Fierstein, Adrienne Kennedy, and David and Amy Sedaris began their careers at La MaMa. The theater presents more than 70 productions a year and houses four separate theaters, an art gallery, a dorm for traveling artists, and an extensive archive catalog. La MaMa has expanded to become a global organization with partners around the world.

"La MaMA E.T.C. is a staple of the New York theater scene," said Charlotte St. Martin, president of the Broadway League, and Heather Hitchens, president of the American Theatre Wing. "It is an exciting space where artists can grow, create, and push boundaries, and we are thrilled to be able to honor them this year."

The American Theatre Wing's 72nd Annual Tony Awards will be hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, airing on CBS on Sunday, June 10, live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City. The nominations for the 2018 Tony Awards will be announced live by Leslie Odom Jr. and Katharine McPhee on Tuesday, May 1, from the New York City Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.