Photo Flash

Kate Baldwin, Erin Dilly, Sheldon Harnick, Danny Rutigliano Toast Encores!’ Fiorello! at Closing Night Party

The seven-performance revival marked the start of the popular New York City Center series’ 20th season.

Danny Rutigliano (The Lion King) led the company of the Pulitzer Prize-winning musical in the title role, with Tony Award winner Shuler Hensley (Oklahoma!) as Republican District Leader Ben Marino, Tony nominee Kate Baldwin (Giant) as LaGuardia’s first wife, Thea, Tony nominee Erin Dilly (A Christmas Story) as Marie, his long-suffering secretary, Tony nominee Emily Skinner (Side Show) as singer Mitzi Travers, Jenn Gambatese (Tarzan) as union worker Dora, Jeremy Bobb (Is He Dead?) as police officer Floyd McDuff, Adam Heller (Elf), Andrew Samonsky (Merrily We Roll Along), Ray DeMattis (Grease), Richard Ruiz (Romeo and Juliet), Cheryl Stern (La Cage aux Folles), Justin Barnette, Meggie Cansler, Christine DiGiallonardo, Yurel Echezarreta, Leah Edwards, Rob Gallagher, Jordan Fife Hunt, Alison Jantzie, Lizzie Klemperer, Kevin Ligon, Lauralyn McClelland, Rebecca Robbins, Adam Rogers, Steve Routman,Tommy Scrivens, Lainie Sakakura, Carly Blake Sebouhian, Nathaniel Stampley, and Kevin Vortmann.

Directed by Gary Griffin (The Color Purple), Fiorello! featured musical direction by Rob Berman, choreography by Alex Sanchez, a book adaptation by John Weidman, and design consultation by John Lee Beatty (sets), Jess Goldstein (costumes), Ken Billington (lighting), and Scott Lehrer (sound).

Fiorello!, which ran for 795 performances on Broadway from November 1959 to October 1961, had a single, 16-performance revival at City Center in 1962, and, three decades later, inaugurated the Encores! series in February 1994. The musical won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, the New York Critics’ Circle Award, and tied with The Sound of Music for the 1960 Tony Award for Best Musical.