Theater News

Jordan Harrison and Zayd Dohrn Awarded 2016 Horton Foote Prize

The biennial prize is presented to playwrights for excellence in American theater.

Jordan Harrison is one of two 2016 recipients of the Horton Foote Prize.
Jordan Harrison is one of two 2016 recipients of the Horton Foote Prize.
(© David Gordon)

The 2016 recipients of the biennial Horton Foote Prize have been announced. Named in honor of the late playwright, the prize recognizes excellence in American theater. This year’s prize marks the centenary of the birth of the Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright, whose works include The Trip to Bountiful, The Orphan’s Home Cycle, and The Young Man From Atlanta.

The 2016 Prize for Outstanding New American Play is awarded to Marjorie Prime by Jordan Harrison, with 2016 Prize for Promising New American Play going to The Profane by Zayd Dohrn.

Harrison and Dohrn will each be presented with $20,000 and a limited edition of Keith Carter’s iconic photograph of Horton Foote, which is found in the permanent collection of the National Portrait Gallery in Washington, D.C. Their achievements will be celebrated at a private reception on Monday, October 24, at the Lotos Club.

The four judges of the 2016 Horton Foote Prize are Academy Award nominee and Tony-winning actress Stockard Channing, serving as chair; Vineyard Theatre artistic director Sarah Stern; award-winning playwright Deborah Zoe Laufer (Leveling Up, Informed Consent, End Games); and Los Angeles-based director and producer Victor Maog.

Harrison and Dohrn were nominated by Center Theatre Group and Playwrights Horizons, respectively. Marjorie Prime had its world premiere with Center Theatre Group’s Mark Taper Forum in September 2014, receiving its New York premiere with Playwrights Horizons in November 2015. The world premiere of The Profane at Playwrights Horizons will begin previews March 17 with opening night set for April 9 at Playwrights Horizons' Peter Jay Sharp Theater.