Audio Share

EXCLUSIVE: Matt Doyle Sings a Debut Track From the Musical Bubble Boy

The show is written by Cinco Paul and Ken Daurio.

Ghostlight Records will release the original cast recording of Bubble Boy, the new musical based on the 2001 cult classic film of the same name, on Friday, July 28. Here, they provide TheaterMania with an exclusive debut track from the record, "Something Called Forever," sung by Matt Doyle.

The show is created by the writers of the original film, Cinco Paul (music, lyrics, and book) and Ken Daurio (book) — writers of the international hit animated films The Secret Life of Pets, Horton Hears a Who!, The Lorax, and Despicable Me 1, 2 & 3. Bubble Boy is the second major project for Daurio and Paul this summer, with Despicable Me 3 in cinemas nationwide.

The recording features Tony Award winner Alice Ripley, A.J. Holmes, Drama Desk Award winner Richard Kind, Caroline Bowman, and Matt Doyle. The cast also includes Gerard Canonico, Kirsten Scott, Martín Solá, Nehal Joshi, Alex Chester and Anita Welch. Musical director Matt Hinkley leads a seven-member band.

The album also features a 32-page full color booklet with a synopsis and liner notes from Cinco Paul, as well as a note from Stephen Schwartz, composer and lyricist of Pippin, Wicked, and Godspell.

Bubble Boy was originally developed at Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza’s Scherr Forum and at the Disney ASCAP Musical Theatre Workshop, a developmental workshop headed by Stephen Schwartz, created for the purpose of nurturing new American musicals. A special concert production of Bubble Boy was presented at Feinstein's/54 Below.

The recording is produced by Cinco Paul, Kurt Deutsch and Justin Goldner.

To purchase the album, click here.