Theater News

Cheyenne Jackson, Boyd Gaines, Pam MacKinnon, and More Will Decide 2014 Tony Award Nominations

Meet the official nominating committee for the 2013-2014 Broadway season.

Cheyenne Jackson
Cheyenne Jackson
© David Gordon

A host of acclaimed theatrical writers, directors, actors, designers, and producers will decide the nominations for the 2014 Tony Awards. The committee, made up of 46 members, attends all of the productions during the Broadway season and then will vote — during a secret meeting — to determine which members of the 2013-2014 season will add the moniker “Tony Award nominee” to their name.

This season’s nominating committee includes, in alphabetical order, Douglas Aibel (artistic director, The Vineyard Theatre); Arin Arbus (associate artistic director, Theatre for a New Audience); John Arnone (scenic designer); Ira Bernstein (former producer/general manager/stage manager); Susan Birkenhead (lyricist); Mark Brokaw (theatrical director); Donald Byrd (choreographer); Ben Cameron (program director for the arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation); Mary Schmidt Campbell (Dean, Tisch School of the Arts); Veronica Claypool (arts management consultant, Full Circle Management); Douglas J. Cohen (composer/lyricist/playwright); Ida Cole (founding director, Seattle Theatre Group); John Darnton (former cultural editor of The New York Times); Jacqueline Z. Davis (executive director, The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts); and Rick Elice (playwright).

Members also include Boyd Gaines (actor); Kent Gash (director, NYU Tisch School of the Arts’ New Studio on Broadway); Liza Gennaro (choreographer); Kathryn Grody (actor/writer); Adam Guettel (composer/lyricist); Wendall K. Harrington (projection designer); Susan Hilferty (costume designer); Philip Himberg (producing artistic director, Sundance Institute Theatre Program); Ann Hould-Ward (costume designer); Julie Hughes (former casting director); Cheyenne Jackson (actor); Abe Jacob (sound designer), Stephen Karam (playwright); Anne Kauffman (director); Corby Kummer (senior editor; The Atlantic magazine); Dick Latessa (actor); John Leguizamo (actor/playwright); Sara Lukinson (documentary film producer); Pam MacKinnon (director); Marsha Mason (actor/playwright); Susan Rice (playwright); Mervyn Rothsten (retired writer/editor, The New York Times); Scott Schwartz (director); Linda Shelton (executive director, Joyce Theatre Foundation); Arlene Shuler (president and CEO, New York City Center); Tobie S. Stein (Brooklyn College); Robert Viagas (Playbill program director); Carol Waaser (retired AEA official); Robin Wagner (scenic designer); Tony Walton (scenic and costume designer); and Chay Yew (playwright/director).