Theater News

Broadway's Ian Lassiter, Paul Vogt, and More Set for Arena Stage's Oliver!

Full casting has been announced for the Molly Smith-directed production.

Paul Vogt will star in Arena Stage's upcoming production of Oliver!
Paul Vogt will star in Arena Stage's upcoming production of Oliver!
(© Blake Gardner Photography)

Arena Stage has announced full casting for its upcoming production of the Tony Award-winning musical Oliver!, which will run from October 30-January 3 in the Fichandler Stage at the Mead Center for American Theater. Arena Stage artistic director Molly Smith directs.

Smith’s new in-the-round staging of Lionel Bart's Oliver! aims to infuse a modern edge to the classic musical about an innocent orphan thrown into the dark world of double-dealing thieves and conmen, highlighting the disparity between classes and dangerous life on London’s streets today. The classic musical features beloved musical theater songs including "You've Got to Pick a Pocket or Two," "Consider Yourself," "Where is Love?," and "Food, Glorious Food."

Oliver!'s cast will feature Broadway veterans Jeff McCarthy (The Pirate Queen) as Fagin, Kyle Coffman (The Mystery of Edwin Drood) as Artful Dodger, Ian Lassiter (War Horse) as Bill Sykes, and Paul Vogt (Hairspray) as Mr. Bumble as well as Eleasha Gamble (Arena Stage’s Oklahoma!) as Nancy. Nine-year-old Jake Miller and 10-year-old Aidan Pritchard rotate in the title role of the orphan Oliver.

The ensemble will also include Ian Anthony Coleman as Long Song Seller, Catherine Flye as Rose Seller/Old Sally, Rayanne Gonzales as Widow Corney/Strawberry Seller, Jesse Palmer as Bet, Dorea Schmidt as Mrs. Sowerberry/Mrs. Bedwin, Kyle Schliefer as Noah Claypole, Thomas Adrian Simpson as Mr. Brownlow, Stephen Gregory Smith as Dr. Grimwig, Tom Story as Mr. Sowerberry, Lara Zinn as Charlotte, Lauren Gemelli as Milk Maid/Old Lady, Chaz Jackson as Charley Bates, and Kyle Vaughn as Knife Grinder, plus swings Jane Bunting and Jimmy Mavrikes.

Local youth Mohammed Badawi, Arena Stage camper Sebastian Gervase, Henry Niepoetter, and Ethan Van Slyke will complete the company as workhouse boys and members of Fagin’s gang.

The creative team will include choreographer Parker Esse, music director Paul Sportelli, set designer Todd Rosenthal, lighting designer Colin K. Bills, costume designer Wade Laboissonniere, and sound designers Joshua Horvath and Ray Nardelli.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story