Broadway League Educator Apple Awards to Be Presented at Jimmy Awards

The 2016 League Educator Apple Award recipients hail from Florida and New York City.

The Broadway League has announced the local teachers and advocates who will receive the 2016 League Educator Apple Award. Now in its 14th year, the awards acknowledge the efforts of those who support programs relating to Broadway or touring Broadway shows, promoting further development of theater education.

The 2016 League Educator Apple Award recipients are Elisa De Gregorio, Arts Education Liaison and Art Specialist at Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis High School for International Careers in New York, New York (nominated by Roundabout Theatre Company); Dawn Dunham, Civics Teacher at Maitland Middle School in Maitland, Florida (nominated by Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts); and Denise Sasiain, Afterschool Program Director at Lantana Elementary in Lantana, Florida (nominated by the Raymond F. Kravis Center for the Performing Arts).

The Broadway League Educator Apple Awards will be presented at the eighth annual National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA) showcase in New York City on June 27 at the Minskoff Theatre. Sixty-two nominees from across America will compete for the Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actor and Best Performance by an Actress. The ceremony will be hosted by Zachary Levi, who is currently starring in Roundabout Theatre Company’s She Loves Me on Broadway.

Featured In This Story