Theater News

Betsy Wolfe, Alexander Gemignani, and Margaret Colin Join the Cast of Carousel

The production will play Broadway’s Imperial Theatre.

Betsy Wolfe will join the Broadway cast of Carousel.
Betsy Wolfe will join the Broadway cast of Carousel.
(© David Gordon)

Additional information has been announced for the upcoming Broadway revival of Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II’s classic musical Carousel, directed by three-time Tony Award winner Jack O'Brien and choreographed by Justin Peck. The production will play the Imperial Theatre when it makes its return to Broadway in the spring. Beginning preview performances on Wednesday, February 28, Carousel officially opens on Thursday, April 12.

Also announced are additional principal cast members Betsy Wolfe as Carrie Pipperidge, Alexander Gemignani as Enoch Snow, and Margaret Colin as Mrs. Mullin. Wolfe, Gemignani, and Colin join the previously announced stars, Tony Award nominee Joshua Henry as Billy Bigelow, Tony Award winner Jessie Mueller as Julie Jordan, Renée Fleming (in her first-ever appearance in a Broadway musical) as Nettie Fowler, Amar Ramasar as Jigger, and Brittany Pollack as Louise.

Carousel first opened on Broadway on April 19, 1945. Based on Ferenc Molnár's play Liliom, Rodgers and Hammerstein transported the drama from the outskirts of Budapest to a New England mill town, where the story focuses on the tragic romance between carnival barker Billy Bigelow and factory worker Julie Jordan.

The ensemble of Carousel features Colin Anderson, Yesenia Ayala, Nicholas Belton, Colin Bradbury, Andrei Chagas, Leigh-Ann Esty, Laura Feig, David Michael Garry, Garett Hawe, Rosena M. Hill Jackson, Amy Justman, Jess LeProtto, Skye Mattox, Adriana Pierce, David Prottas, Craig Salstein, Ahmad Simmons, Antoine L. Smith, Corey John Snide, Erica Spyres, Ryan Steele, Sam Strasfeld, Ricky Ubeda, Scarlett Walker, Jacob Keith Watson, and William Youmans. Additional cast members will be announced shortly.

The creative team includes four-time Tony Award winner Santo Loquasto (set design); Tony and Academy Award winner Ann Roth (costume design); nine-time Tony Award winner Jules Fisher and three-time Tony Award winner Peggy Eisenhauer (lighting design); Tony Award winner Scott Lehrer (sound design); Tony, Grammy, Emmy, and Academy Award winner Jonathan Tunick (orchestrations); and Andy Einhorn (musical supervision and direction).