Theater News

Anastasia and Hello, Dolly! Lead Outer Critics Circle Award Nominations

”Indecent”, ”Come From Away”, and ”The Band’s Visit” also topped the list of nominees.

Christy Altomare in Anastasia on Broadway.
Christy Altomare in Anastasia on Broadway.
(© Matthew Murphy)

The new Broadway musical Anastasia and the Bette Midler-led revival of Hello, Dolly!, topped the list of 2017 Outer Critics Circle Award nominees, announced Tuesday, April 25 at the Algonquin Hotel.

Anastasia received 13 nominations, including nods for stars Christy Altomare, John Bolton, Caroline O’Connor, and Mary Beth Peil, while Hello, Dolly! received 10 nods, which included leading players Midler, David Hyde Pierce, Kate Baldwin, and Gavin Creel. Also topping the list were Come From Away and The Band’s Visit, which tied with seven nominations, and Paula Vogel’s drama Indecent and Daniel Sullvan’s revival of Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes, both which received six nominations each.

The full list of nominees is below. Hyperlinked shows are still running at time of publication. For tickets, click on the title of a show.

Outstanding New Broadway Play
A Doll’s House, Part 2

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
A Bronx Tale — The Musical
Come From Away
Groundhog Day
Holiday Inn

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
If I Forget
A Life
Love, Love, Love

John Gassner Award
(Presented for an American play, preferably by a new playwright)
Men on Boats
Small Mouth Sounds
Tell Hector I Miss Him
The Wolves

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
The Band’s Visit
Himself & Nora
Kid Victory

Outstanding Revival of a Play
(Broadway or off-Broadway)
The Front Page
The Little Foxes
The Price

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
(Broadway or off-Broadway)
Finian’s Rainbow
Hello, Dolly!
Miss Saigon
Sunset Boulevard
Sweeney Todd

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Michael Emerson, Wakey, Wakey
Daniel Craig, Othello
Kevin Kline, Present Laughter
David Oyelowo, Othello
David Hyde Pierce, A Life

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Michael Aronov, Oslo
Danny DeVito, The Price
Nathan Lane, The Front Page
Richard Thomas, The Little Foxes
Richard Topol, Indecent

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Janie Dee, Linda
Sally Field, The Glass Menagerie
Allison Janney, Six Degrees of Separation
Laura Linney, The Little Foxes
Laurie Metcalf, A Doll’s House, Part 2

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Johanna Day, Sweat
Jayne Houdyshell, A Doll’s House, Part 2
Katrina Lenk, Indecent
Nana Mensah, Man From Nebraska
Cynthia Nixon, The Little Foxes

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Christian Borle, Falsettos
Nick Cordero, A Bronx Tale — The Musical
Andy Karl, Groundhog Day
David Hyde Pierce, Hello, Dolly!
Tony Shalhoub, The Band’s Visit

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
John Bolton, Anastasia
Gavin Creel, Hello, Dolly!
Jeffry Denman, Kid Victory
Shuler Hensley, Sweet Charity
Andrew Rannells, Falsettos

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Christy Altomare, Anastasia
Christine Ebersole, War Paint
Katrina Lenk, The Band’s Visit
Patti LuPone, War Paint
Bette Midler, Hello, Dolly!

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Kate Baldwin, Hello, Dolly!
Stephanie J. Block, Falsettos
Jenn Colella, Come From Away
Caroline O’Connor, Anastasia
Mary Beth Peil, Anastasia

Outstanding Solo Performance
Ed Dixon, Georgie: My Adventures With George Rose
Marin Ireland, On the Exhale
Sarah Jones, Sell/Buy/Date
Judith Light, All the Ways to Say I Love You
Simon McBurney, The Encounter

Outstanding Book of a Musical
(Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Terrence McNally, Anastasia
Itamar Moses, The Band’s Visit
Chazz Palminteri, A Bronx Tale — The Musical
Danny Rubin, Groundhog Day
Irene Sankoff and David Hein, Come From Away

Outstanding New Score
(Broadway or off-Broadway)
Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Anastasia
Alan Menken and Glenn Slater, A Bronx Tale — The Musical
Tim Minchin, Groundhog Day
Irene Sankoff and David Hein, Come From Away
David Yazbek, The Band’s Visit

Outstanding Director of a Play
Lila Neugebauer, The Wolves
Jack O’Brien, The Front Page
Daniel Sullivan, The Little Foxes
Rebecca Taichman, Indecent
Kate Whoriskey, Sweat

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Christopher Ashley, Come From Away
David Cromer, The Band’s Visit
Darko Tresnjak, Anastasia
Matthew Warchus, Groundhog Day
Jerry Zaks, Hello, Dolly!

Outstanding Choreographer
Andy Blankenbuehler, Bandstand
Kelly Devine, Come From Away
Warren Carlyle, Hello, Dolly!
Savion Glover, Shuffle Along
Denis Jones, Holiday Inn

Outstanding Scenic Design
(Play or Musical)
Alexander Dodge, Anastasia
Nigel Hook, The Play That Goes Wrong
Mimi Lien, Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
Scott Pask, The Little Foxes
Douglas W. Schmidt, The Front Page

Outstanding Costume Design
(Play or Musical)
Linda Cho, Anastasia
Susan Hilferty, Present Laughter
Santo Loquasto, Hello, Dolly!
Ann Roth, Shuffle Along
Catherine Zuber, War Paint

Outstanding Lighting Design
(Play or Musical)
Christopher Akerlind, Indecent
Donald Holder, Anastasia
Natasha Katz, Hello, Dolly!
Bradley King, Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
Kenneth Posner, War Paint

Outstanding Projection Design
(Play or Musical)
Duncan McLean, Privacy
Jared Mezzochi, Vietgone
Benjamin Pearcy for 59 Productions, Oslo
Aaron Rhyne, Anastasia
Tal Yarden, Indecent

Outstanding Sound Design
(Play or Musical)
Gareth Fry and Pete Malkin, The Encounter
Gareth Owen, Come From Away
Nicholas Pope, Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
Nevin Steinberg, Bandstand
Matt Stine, Sweeney Todd

Outstanding Orchestrations
(Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Doug Besterman, Anastasia
Larry Blank, Holiday Inn
Bill Elliott & Greg Anthony Rassen, Bandstand
Larry Hochman, Hello, Dolly!
Jamshied Sharifi, The Band’s Visit

Only new elements of Dear Evan Hansen, Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812, Significant Other, and In Transit were considered. Shuffle Along was considered this season at the request of the producers. Sunday in the Park With George was ineligible at the request of the producers.

Featured In This Story


Closed: March 31, 2019

Come From Away

Closed: October 2, 2022


Closed: August 6, 2017