Film News

ABC to Air Annual Broadcast of The Sound of Music This Sunday

The beloved film stars Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer.

(image provided by the Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization)
(image provided by the Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization)

ABC will continue its annual holiday season tradition of presenting Rodgers and Hammerstein's The Sound of Music, this year airing the beloved film on Sunday, December 20 at 7pm ET.

The Sound of Music stars Julie Andrews as Maria von Trapp, Christopher Plummer as Captain George von Trapp, Eleanor Parker as Baroness Elsa Schraeder, Richard Haydn as Max Detweiler, Charmian Carr as Liesl von Trapp, Nicholas Hammond as Friedrich von Trapp, Heather Menzies as Louisa von Trapp, Duane Chase as Kurt von Trapp, Angela Cartwright as Brigitta von Trapp, Debbie Turner as Marta von Trapp, Kym Karath as Gretl von Trapp, Peggy Wood as Mother Abbess, Anna Lee as Sister Margaretta, Portia Nelson as Sister Berthe, Marni Nixon as Sister Sophia, Daniel Truhitte as Rolfe, and Ben Wright as Herr Zeller.

The film, which celebrated its 55th anniversary earlier this year, was directed and produced by Robert Wise, with a screenplay by Ernest Lehman. It was adapted from the stage musical with score by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II, and book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse.

The Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization has partnered with a variety of artists to create a Sound of Music Craft Corner for families, filled with a number of different DIY projects. Check it out here.

You can also find the property across social media at @SoundOfMusic or using the hashtag #SoundOfMusic.