Theater News

2000-2001 Tony Awards Nominating Committee Announced

The administration committee of the American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards has announced the nominating committee for the 2000-2001 Broadway season.

New committee members, each beginning a three-year term, are: Price Berkley (publisher), Robert Callely (administrator), Robert Kamlot (general manager), Louise Kerz (historian), Theodore Mann (producer), Aubrey Reuben (photographer), Arthur Rubin (producer), and Meg Simon (casting director).

Members of the committee continuing from previous seasons are: Lisa Aronson (scenic designer), Kate Burton (actress), Mary Schmidt Campbell (educator), John Cunningham (actor), Merle Debuskey (publicist), Jerry Dominus (executive), Henry Guettel (administrator), Carol Hall (composer-lyricist), Geraldine Hammerstein (actress-writer), Jay Harnick (artistic director), Sheldon Harnick (lyricist), Stuart Little (writer-editor), Thomas Meehan (librettist), Joanna Merlin (actress-casting director), Peter Neufeld (general manager), Estelle Parsons (actress), Shirley Rich (casting director), Frances Sternhagen (actress), Arnold Weinstein (educator), and George White (artistic director).

Nominating committee members attend all productions during the Broadway season and meet on a date designated by the administration committee to vote on the Tony nominees for that season. The Tony Awards are presented by the League of American Theaters and Producers and the American Theatre Wing, which founded the Tonys in 1947.