TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hand to God's Robert Askins Funds Ensemble Studio Theatre's Youngblood Commissions

Askins' Tony-nominated play originated at EST. logo
Hand to God playwright Robert Askins has funded the 2015 exit commissions for Ensemble Studio Theatre's Youngblood program.
(© David Gordon)

Ensemble Studio Theatre has announced its annual Unfiltered series of new plays from authors under the age of 30.

The season kicked off with Brendan Hill's Sh*tloads of Money, directed by Matt Dickson. Next up is Abby Rosebrock's Dido of Idaho, directed by Mikhaela Mahony. Running from November 19-22, it features Curran Connor, Julie Fitzpatrick, Layla Khoshnoudi, Dawn McGee, and Abby Rosebrock.

Ana Nogueira's Empathitrax, directed by John Giampetro, follows. Casting for the show, running from December 9-12, will be announced. In 2016, the series will present Mope by Paul Cameron Hardy, Honors Students by Mariah MacCarthy, and The Triple Threat, a musical comedy by Patrick Link and Eric March.

Additionally, EST's Youngblood program will award commission grants to all members as they turn 30 years old and graduate from the program. This year's exit commissions, funded by Hand to God playwright Robert Askins, were awarded to Lucy Gillespie, Paul Cameron Hardy, Patrick Link, Martyna Majok, Anna Moench, Ana Nogueira, Jen Silverman, and Emily Chadick Weiss. Ensemble Studio Theatre is where Askins' Tony-nominated Hand to God originated.

New Youngblood members are Brittany K. Allen, Cary Gitter, Amanda Keating, Sylvia Khoury, Claire Kiechel, Andrew Massey, Catya McMullen, Ming Peiffer, Christina Quintana, Rebecca Schlossberg, and Kristin Slaney.