TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

The Theater Hall of Fame Announces Its List of 2014 Inductees

Tony winner Blythe Danner is among this year's honorees.

Blythe Danner, current star of Broadway's The Country House, will be inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame.

The Theater Hall of Fame has released the names of its 2014 inductees.

Making the list this year are Tony-winning director/choreographer Susan Stroman (The Producers), actor F. Murray Abraham (current star of It's Only a Play), actor Alvin Epstein, Tony-winning actor Blythe Danner (current star of The Country House), former theater critic Frank Rich, chairman of the Shubert Organization Philip J. Smith, Tony-winning playwright Alfred Uhry (Driving Miss Daisy), and director Marshall Mason.

The Theater Hall of Fame was founded in 1971 by Earl Blackwell, James M. Nederlander, Gerard Oestreicher and L. Arnold Weissberger to honor Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater. The 44th annual induction ceremony will take place January 26, 2015, at the Gershwin Theatre, home of Broadway's Wicked.

Over 50 nominees divided among 10 categories are voted on each summer by over 350 members of the American Theater Critics Association and the Theater Hall of Fame. The final eight nominees receiving the most votes are ratified for the annual induction. According to the organization, to be considered eligible for the honor, nominees must have given "25 years distinguished service to the American Theater and, at least, five major production credits on Broadway."

The list of 2013 inductees included actors Cherry Jones and Ellen Burstyn; directors Jerry Zaks, George C. Wolfe, and Lynne Meadow; producer Cameron Mackintosh; designer David Hays; and, posthumously, A Raisin in the Sun playwright Lorraine Hansberry.