TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Stephen Karam, Michael John LaChiusa, Alan Menken Receive 2012 Dramatists Guild Awards

Stephen Karam will receive the 2012 Hull-Warriner Award for Sons of the Prophet.
(© David Gordon)
Stephen Karam, Alan Menken, Michael John LaChiusa, Philip Kan Gotanda, and Micki Grant have been named the recipients of the Dramatists Guild of America's 2012 annual awards. A presentation ceremony, hosted by Lisa Kron, will be held at the Players Club on Monday, November 5.

Karam will be honored for his play Sons of the Prophet. Menken and LaChiusa will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition for their scores for the musicals Newsies and Queen of the Mist, respectively. Gotanda is the recipient of the Flora Roberts Award, and Grant will be given the Dramatists Guild Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Performers during the ceremony will include Amanda Green, Mary Testa, and Kenita Miller.

For more information and tickets, call 212-389-9366, x20, or email [email protected]