TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Stephen Karam and Zinnie Harris Win the Berwin Lee Playwrights Award

US recipient Stephen Karam is the author of ''Sons of the Prophet'', a finalist for the 2012 Pulitzer Prize. logo
Stephen Karam has been selected as one of the winners of this year's Berwin Lee Playwrights Award.
(© Tristan Fuge)

Stephen Karam (U.S. recipient) and Zinnie Harris (U.K. recipient) have been announced as the second winners of the Berwin Lee Playwrights Award, an honor created to foster and promote the craft of playwriting in the United States and the United Kingdom. A reception will be held in their honor in New York City on March 19.

Berwin Lee grants awards to playwrights whose work has not yet been produced on Broadway or in the West End, with potential recipients identified through recommendations from theater companies. This year's winners, who were chosen unanimously by the three trustees, will each receive a $25,000 award in the form of a commission, with no specific time frame attached.

The upcoming reception will also celebrate the production of Bathsheba Doran's The Mystery of Love and Sex, currently running at Lincoln Center's Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater. Doran was the first recipient of the Berwin Lee Award in 2013.

Stephen Karam is the author of Sons of the Prophet, a finalist for the 2012 Pulitzer Prize. His other plays include Speech & Debate, columbinus, and Dark Sisters.

Zinnie Harris is a playwright and director. Her plays include Further Than the Furthest Thing, which toured from the Traverse theatre to the National Theatre, and most recently, How to Hold Your Breath, which premiered at the Royal Court Jerwood downstairs in 2015.

For tickets to The Mystery of Love and Sex, click here.