Theater News

Stephanie J. Block, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Many More to Present at the Drama Desk Awards

The evening will also feature performances from Drama Desk-nominated shows, including Giant, Dogfight, and Hands on a Hardbody.

Stephanie J. Block
Stephanie J. Block
(© David Gordon)

The 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards have announced the presenters and performances set for the May 19 awards ceremony at The Town Hall. The Drama Desk Awards are presented by TheaterMania and will be available to watch via Livestream on

The event’s presenters will include Stephanie J. Block (The Mystery of Edwin Drood), Celia Keenan-Bolger (Peter and the Starcatcher), Daniel Breaker (The Performers), Danny Burstein (Talley’s Folly), Charlotte d’Amboise (Pippin), Michael Urie (Buyer & Cellar), Jim Dale (The Road to Mecca), John Glover (Nikolai and the Others), Paul Huntley (The Trip to Bountiful), Lisa Kron (Well), Martin Lowe (Once), Terrence Mann (Pippin), Joe Mantello (The Other Place), Jan Maxwell (Follies), Audra McDonald (The Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess), Terrence McNally (Golden Age), Lin-Manuel Miranda (Bring It On), Brian Stokes Mitchell (Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown), Donna Murphy (Into the Woods), Denis O’Hare (Into the Woods), Benj Pasek (A Christmas Story: The Musical), Justin Paul (A Christmas Story: The Musical), Michele Pawk (Giant), Tonya Pinkins (Storefront Church), Alex Timbers (Here Lies Love), Tommy Tune (Grease), David Byrne (Here Lies Love), Cynthia Henson, Steve Karam, and William Wolf.

The evening will also feature performances from the Drama Desk nominated shows Dogfight, Giant, Hands on a Hardbody, Here Lies Love, and Working: A Musical.

The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955. It is the only critics’ organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, off-Broadway and off-off Broadway productions in the same categories.

For more information and tickets to the Drama Desk Awards, click here.

Featured In This Story

Closed: May 19, 2013