TheaterMania Logo
Home link

David Hyde Pierce and More Announced as Presenters for the Chita Rivera Awards

Chris Noth, Donna McKechnie, and Baayork Lee will also be among the evening's participants.

David Hyde Pierce will be among the presenters at the 2017 Chita Rivera Awards.
(© David Gordon)

Presenters have been announced for the 2017 Chita Rivera Awards, which will be presented on September 11 at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre. Directed by four-time Tony nominee Randy Skinner and hosted by two-time Tony winner Bebe Neuwirth, the event is produced by American Dance Machine for the 21st Century (ADM21) and its founder and producing artistic director, Nikki Feirt Atkins, in association with Patricia Watt.

Presenters will includ Chris Noth, David Hyde Pierce, Carmen De Lavallade, Donna McKechnie, Baayork Lee, Priscilla Lopez, Nikki M. James, Tony Yazbeck, Karen Ziemba, Melissa Errico, Jerry Zaks, Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Lee Roy Reams, and Pam McKinnon.

The event will feature performances by Robert Fairchild and Melanie Moore, dancing a duet from La La Land, as well as performances by casts of A Bronx Tale — The Musical, Come From Away, and off-Broadway's Sweet Charity at the ceremony. The evening will also include a performance by the New York City Ballet of "America" from West Side Story to honor Rivera, who originated the role of Anita on Broadway. ADM21 will also perform "We'll Take a Glass Together" from Grand Hotel in honor of theater and dance legend Tommy Tune, who will be presented with the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award at the ceremony.

In addition to Tommy Tune, Diane Paulus will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater Award as a director, and Antonio Vendome will receive the Outstanding Contribution to the Arts and Humanities Award.

The mission of the Chita Rivera Awards is to celebrate dance and choreographic excellence. The awards seek to continue that vision by not only celebrating the superb achievement of each nominee but by recognizing the immeasurable talents and passion of every theatrical choreographer and dancer.

For a full list of this year's nominees, click here.

For tickets and more information, click here.