Theater News

Outer Critics Circle Announces New Executive/Nominating Committee Members

The New York organization kicks off the 2018-19 theater season with a new roster of nominators.

Outer Critics Circle President David Gordon announces the newest members of the organization's executive/nominating committee.
Outer Critics Circle President David Gordon announces the newest members of the organization's executive and nominating committee.
(© Jason Smith)

The Outer Critics Circle, the organization of writers and commentators covering New York theater for out-of-town newspapers, national publications, and other media beyond Broadway, has announced the newest additions to the OCC executive/nominating committee. New members include Cynthia Allen (professor at New York University), Richard Ridge (lead correspondent for BroadwayWorld), David Roberts (chief critic at Theatre Reviews Limited), and Janice Simpson (director of the Arts & Culture Reporting program at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY).

"The Outer Critics Circle found itself in a period of transition during the springtime, as we bid a sad farewell to our historian Glenn Loney, who passed away at the age of 89, as well as accepted the decisions of longtime board members Stanley Cohen, Mario Fratti, and Aubrey Reuben to step away from the day-to-day running of the organization," said OCC President David Gordon. "We thank them for their decades of commitment to OCC and are very grateful that they will be remaining on our membership roster. This fall, we are extremely excited to welcome Cynthia Allen, Richard Ridge, David Roberts, and Janice Simpson to our executive and nominating committee. Their extraordinary talents will be put to great use as we shepherd the Outer Critics Circle into the future."

Joining Gordon on the executive board are Simon Saltzman (vice president), Patrick Hoffman (corresponding secretary), Joseph Cervelli (recording secretary), and Harry Haun (member-at-large), who will continue in their current capacities for the OCC.