TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Monk, Pierce, Rivera, Ziemba, et al. to Honor John Kander at Westport Gala

David Hyde Pierce
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Tony Award winners Shuler Hensley, Debra Monk, James Naughton, David Hyde Pierce, Chita Rivera, Ben Vereen, and Karen Ziemba will honor composer John Kander at the Westport Country Playhouse's annual gala Everybody Loves a Winner, to take place, beginning at 6pm on Monday, September 24. Proceeds will benefit the Playhouse's artistic and educational programming.

Kander, a three-time Tony Award winner, is currently represented on Broadway by Curtains and Chicago, both of which were written with his late partner, Fred Ebb. Their other Broadway shows include Cabaret, Woman of the Year, Kiss of the Spider Woman, The Rink, and Steel Pier. Earlier this year, Westport presented their musical All About Us, based on Thornton Wilder's The Skin of Our Teeth, and Virginia's Signature Theater will present The Visit, starring Rivera, in Spring 2008.

The show will be directed by Peter Flynn, with musical direction by Mary-Mitchell Campbell. In addition to the performance, there is a pre-show cocktail part, post-show dinner, and silent and live auctions.

Tickets range from $500-$2,000. For more information, call 203-227-5137, ext. 138 or visit


Tagged in this Story