TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Kander & Ebb to Receive the 11th Annual Oscar Hammerstein Award logo
No partnership in the musical theater has lasted longer than that of John Kander and Fred Ebb, who will be awarded the York Theatre Company's 11th Annual Oscar Hammerstein Award for their lifetime of work on June 5, 2000.

Together, Kander & Ebb have brought the world a dazzling mixture of iconic, classic, innovative and cult musicals, from Chicago and Cabaret to The Rink and 70, Girls, 70, the latter recently featured in a sold-out run as part of the York's annual Musicals in Mufti series.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award commemorates lifetime achievement in the musical theater, and was created in 1988 by the York's founding Artistic Director, Janet Hayes Walker. Past honorees include David Merrick, Stephen Schwartz, Stephen Sondheim, Harold Prince, Jerry Herman and Cy Coleman.

For information and reservations for the awards, call 212-935-5820.

Tagged in this Story