TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Photo Flash

Meet the Stars of Disney's New Stage Musical The Hunchback of Notre Dame

The show, with a score by Oscar winners Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz, is inspired by the 1996 animated film of the same title.

The cast of the Paper Mill Playhouse production of The Hunchback of Notre Dame met the press at their rehearsal studio on February 24. Inspired by the Victor Hugo novel and based on the 1996 Disney animated film, the production will run from March 4-April 5 with an official press opening on March 15.

Michael Arden and Patrick Page lead the cast of The Hunchback of Notre Dame as Quasimodo and Frollo.
(© David Gordon)

As in the musical's premiere run at La Jolla Playhouse, the cast is led by Michael Arden as Quasimodo, Patrick Page as Dom Claude Frollo, Ciara Renée as Esmeralda, Andrew Samonsky as Captain Phoebus de Martin, and Erik Liberman as Clopin Trouillefou.

Erik Liberman plays Clopin, with Ciara Renée as Esmeralda, and Andrew Samonsky as Captain Phoebus.
(© David Gordon)

The production features a book by Peter Parnell and a score that blends new material and songs from the film by composer Alan Menken and lyricist Stephen Schwartz. Scott Schwartz directs the musical, which is choreographed by Chase Brock.

The Hunchback of Notre Dame features a score by Academy Award winners Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz, and a book by Peter Parnell.
(© David Gordon)

The ensemble includes Julian Decker, Mary Joe Duggan, Ian Patrick Gibb, Beth Kirkpatrick, Samantha Massell, Neal Mayer, Nora Menken, William Michals, Anise Ritchie, Vincent Rodriguez III, Richard Ruiz, Joseph J. Simeone, Jeremy Stolle, and Dashaun Young. At each performance, 32 local choir members from the Continuo Arts Symphonic Chorus will serve as the onstage choral ensemble.

The Hunchback of Notre Dame cast and creative family.
(© David Gordon)

The Hunchback of Notre Dame's creative team is made up of music supervisor and arranger Michael Kosarin, orchestrator Michael Starobin, set designer Alexander Dodge, costume designer Alejo Vietti, lighting designer Howell Binkley, and sound designer Gareth Owen.

A look at the model for Alexander Dodge's set.
(© David Gordon)

For tickets and more information, click here.