TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Adam Chanler-Berat, Kyle Beltran, and More Set for Fortress of Solitude CD Release Concert

Hear Michael Friedman's eclectic score aloud one more time.

Kristen Sieh, Adam Chanler-Berat, Ken Barnett, Kyle Beltran, and Kevin Mambo in The Fortress of Solitude at the Public Theater.
(© Doug Hamilton)

The Fortress of Solitude stars Ken Barnett, Kyle Beltran, Adam Chanler-Berat, André De Shields, Kevin Mambo, Britton Smith, Akron Watson, and Juson Williams will celebrate the musical's soon-to-be-released cast recording with a concert at Joe's Pub on Monday, April 13, at 9:30pm. The Ghostlight Records album, produced by Dean Sharenow and Kurt Deutsch, will drop on March 24.

Based on the best-selling novel of the same name by 2005 MacArthur Fellow Jonathan Lethem, The Fortress of Solitude features a book by Itamar Moses and music and lyrics by Michael Friedman. A coming-of-age story set in 1970s Brooklyn, the musical played the Public Theater in 2014 and was a coproduction with Dallas Theater Center. Daniel Aukin served as director.

The complete cast of The Fortress of Solitude during its Public Theater run included Ken Barnett (Abraham Ebdus), Kyle Beltran (Mingus), Adam Chanler-Berat (Dylan), André De Shields (Senior), Carla Duren (Marilla), Rebecca Naomi Jones (Lala, Abby), Jahi Kearse (Raf, Henry, Desmond, Jared), Kevin Mambo (Junior), Malaiyka Reid (Swing), Noah Ricketts (Swing), David Rossmer (Arthur), Conor Ryan (Radio Guy, Mike, Gabe), Kristen Sieh (Rachel Ebdus), Britton Smith (Subtle Distinction), Brian Tyree Henry (Robert), Akron Watson (Subtle Distinction), Alison Whitehurst (Skater Girl, Liza), and Juson Williams (Subtle Distinction).

A track from the album, "The One I Remember," can be heard below:

Click here for more informaton on the album.