TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Photo Flash

Brian Stokes Mitchell Presents Fred Ebb Award to Shaina Taub

The songwriter and actor will receive a one-night-only showcase for her work produced.

Shaina Taub is the 2017 recipient of the Fred Ebb Award.
(© Henry McGee)

Shaina Taub is recipient of the 2017 Fred Ebb Award. The prize was awarded to the singer and composer on November 27 by Brian Stokes Mitchell in a ceremony at Broadway's American Airlines Theatre.

Brian Stokes Mitchell presents Shaina Taub with the Fred Ebb Award.
(© Henry McGee)

Taub starred in and provided music and lyrics for the Public Theater's Public Works productions of Twelfth Night in 2016 and this year's As You Like It. She has been seen off-Broadway in Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812, Old Hats (for which she is also provided music and lyrics), and in Hadestown at New York Theatre Workshop. In 2016 she received the Jonathan Larson Award.

Shaina Taub grabs a photo with Fred Ebb's longtime writing partner John Kander.
(© Henry McGee)

The Fred Ebb Award recognizes excellence in musical-theater songwriting by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. The award is meant to encourage and support aspiring songwriters to create new works for the musical theater. The prize includes a $60,000 award. In addition to the monetary prize, the Fred Ebb Foundation produces a one-night-only showcase of the winner's work. The Fred Ebb Foundation is funded by royalties from Mr. Ebb's vast catalogue of work.

For more information on Taub's work, click here.